VPN into Windows VPN Server from Ubuntu *Hardy* Intrepid

** Update 2008/11/17 **: Networkmanager is broken in intrepid. To get it  working had to install network manager from ppa as given here – http://www.ubuntu-forums.com/showpost.php?s=e0d93c09b8c340976477456593ac4cf7&p=6094870&postcount=5

Ok – this was easy – and while there’s some resources on google, I had to figure out a few itty bitty things for my work VPN setup.

install

  • network-manager-pptp
  • pptp-linux

Restart network manager with

killall nm-applet
sudo /etc/init.d/dbus restart
nm-applet --sm-disable &

Configure VPN settings

Click on the network manager applet and click on VPN connections

  1. Create a new VPN connection
  2. Ensure that you select Refuse CHAP  in the authentication tab.
  3. In the routing tab, you can give netmasks that need to go through VPN – for my work network, I have: 10.10.5.0/24 172.16.106.0/24

That’s it. Now click on the Network applet, and connect to your VPN. In the authentication dialog, use <domain>\username and your windows domain password.

7 thoughts on “VPN into Windows VPN Server from Ubuntu *Hardy* Intrepid

  1. Not working !

    Using Ubuntu 8.10 x32. Installed VPN PPTP pluggin via Applications Add/Remove program. Created the VPN connection as suggested above. Rebooted the computer.

    Then use the Network Manager applet to select the VPN connection (by its name) to establish the connection. The icon spins for a minute and
    always get “VPN Connection ‘MyVPN Connection Name’ failed”.

    NOTE1: “Refuse CHAP in the authentication tab.” there is not such an option. The only thing close to this is a list of checkboxes under “Allow the following Authentication methods” in Advanced settings.

    NOTE2: “In the routing tab, you can give netmasks …” I don’t see any Routing tab.

    NOTE3: http://www.ubuntu-forums.com/showpost.php?s=e0d93c09b8c340976477456593ac4cf7&p=6094870&postcount=5

    Link dead.

  2. I’m currently using Jaunty and it took me forever to get the VPN in Network Manager to work. This is what I did:
    I went here and got the ‘new’ Network Manager:
    https://launchpad.net/~network-manager/+archive/ppa
    I added the new sources.lst entries as well as the PGP Key and updated the network manager – this called for a reboot..
    Then I installed network-manager-pptp which called for pptp-linux as a dependency.
    I’m VPN’ing to a MS network and configured the VPN connection as follows:
    Checked Connect Automatically,
    Filled in Gateway, user name and password.
    Then I selected the Advanced button and removed the check mark from EAP and below it selected Use Point-to-Point Encryption (MPPE).
    (thanks to virkang for this info – he posted the info on this thread http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1136020 )
    I’ve connected and disconnected several times and it works just fine.

  3. I’m using ubuntu 9.10
    Suggestion by Gregh7470 worked for me too.
    In Advanced
    remove the check mark from EAP and select Point-to-Point Encryption (MPPE).

Leave a comment