Upgrade blues – upgrading to Firefox 3 final from Firefox RC 3

As evident from other posts here – have been keenly waiting for the FF 3 final. Imagine my surprise when the “Check updates” didnt find an upgrade! (I’m on FF3 rc3).

Anyway, so off I went to Mozilla.org and downloaded a copy of the final – and did my bit towards FF download day. Happily installed it – all defaults as usual. Install told me that it was installing into the same location as my current installation (c:\program files\mozilla firefox 3 beta 1 – that’s where my FF3 install have been going  – all the way from b1 to b5 and then from rc1 to rc3 – so no surprise).

Well, installation completed successfully, and I started FF 3 – but my title bar still says Build 2008052906 – even the file version has the same build ID.

Something’s up – don’t know what yet – but has anyone else had a similar experience?

2 thoughts on “Upgrade blues – upgrading to Firefox 3 final from Firefox RC 3

Leave a Reply

